Past Directors


Dr Usha M Munshi

 Dr.(Ms.) Usha M Munshi  was 8th  Director (Hony. 2010-2016)



Prof H C Jain

Prof H C Jain  was Seventh Director (Hony. 2003 – 2010)

Prof. H.C. Jain was born on 14th January 1937 in Delhi.  He did his B.Com from Shri Ram College of Commerce and Diploma in Library Science & Master of Library Science from University of Delhi.  He started his career by joining Ratan Tata Library of Delhi University in the year 1956 and worked there in different capacities including Assistant Librarian until 1974.  Then he was posted to South Campus University Library as its Head/Deputy Librarian for about two decades and retired as Acting University Librarian of DULS in 2001.  He has been associated with Delhi Library Association since 1961 and has held various positions.  He has been rated very high as practicing librarian as well as a great teacher amongst the teaching faculties of DLA’s School of Library Science. He has greatly contributed to the profession during last 5 decades. He has contributed many research papers in the national and international conferences.


Prof S Ansari

Prof. Shahbuddin Ansari  was Sixth Director (Hony. 1999-2002 (Acting) & 2002 to 2003)

Prof. Shahbuddin Ansari was born in 1935 at Ghazipur in Uttar Pradesh. He served Ratan Tata Library of Delhi School of Economics during 1956-1961 as Assistant Librarian, Indian School of International Studies during 1961-1972, Jawaharlal Nehru University during 1972 as Deputy Librarian and Jamia Millia lslamia as Librarian during 1972-1995 & Head of Department, Dept. of Library Science   Jamia Millia Islamia.  He is life member of many professional associations including ILA and DLA.


Prof Krishan Kumar

Prof. Krishan Kumar was Fifth Director (Hony. 1989-2002)

Prof. Krishan Kumar was born on Dec 5, 1933, at Dera Ghazi Khan (Pakistan). He retired as Head, Dept of Library and Information Science, University of Delhi in Dec 1998. He was Professor in the Dept. from 1984 to 1998. He was Dean, Faculty of Arts (University of Delhi) from Feb 1985 to June 1985. He is Past-President, Indian Library Association, 1988-90; President, Indian Association of Teachers of Library and Information Science, 1985-89; Past-Vice-President, Delhi Library Association; former, Director of School of Library Science of Delhi Library association; Editor, Library Herald, 1981-2002; Ex-Chairman, Editorial Board, Journal of Library and Information Science; Convener, UGC Panel on Library Science, 1985-87; Secretary, International Conference on Ranganathan’s Philosophy held in 1985 in New Delhi; Convener, Second Regional Conference of FID/CR held at New Delhi in 1985; Member, Indian Organizing Committee of IFLA General Conference, 1992 and also Chairman, Paper Distribution Sub-Committee. He is the author of two dozen books. In addition he has contributed over 70 papers published in journals, conference proceedings, and edited works. He has also edited three books.


T S Rajagopalan


Mr. T S Rajagopalan  Director, INSDOC , was  Fourth Director (Hony. 1966-1989) .


Ketkar 1

Mr. N M Ketkar (b. 26 Dec. 1915)Librarian/ Director, Central Secrereate Library, Govt. of India   was  Third Director (Hony. 1961-1965).



Mr. P N Kaula, Reader, Institute of Library Science, Delhi University Director (Hony. 1959-1960)


3.Prof S Dasgupta (1955-58)

Prof S Dasgupta (b. 17 July 1912) was First University Librarian  & Head of Department, Dept. of Library Science   University of Delhi  was first Director (Hony. 1955 to 1958).