Past Presidents

 Prof C P Vashishth

7th (2007-09), 8th (2009-11), 9th (2011-13) , 10th (2013-16) President was Prof. C P Vashishth Born on January 2, 1936 in the Sahaswan town of District Budayun in Uttar Pradesh, he is the eldest son of Late Pandit Vidya Dhar Sharma & Smt. Prem Wati. Having done his initial schooling from Gurukul Pathshala, he rose from his modest background to become one of the most respected Professors at the Department of Library & Information Science, University of Delhi.

5. Mr. M L Kachroo( 2005-07) Retd. Senior Scientific Officer, INSDOC

6th  President was Mr. M L Kachroo( 2005-07)

Born on March 12, 1930 in Srinagar, Mr. Makhan Lal Kachroo graduated in science, did Diploma in Library Science from Delhi University in 1952 and M.A. (History) from Meerut University in 1969. His maximum span of service was in INSDOC (now NISCAIR) and was actively associated with teaching and training programmes, various bibliographical projects, etc. He served as General Secretary of the Indian Library Association during 1990-92 and also served Delhi Library Association as President, Registrar, Treasurer and member of its different committees. He has taught for many years in the School of Library Science of DLA and proved to be a teacher of par excellence in the subject of cataloguing theory & practice.  He has greatly contributed to the profession especially Delhi Library Association.

4.Prof H C Jain (2003-05) Retd. Librarian , University of Delhi

5th  President was Prof. H. C. Jain (2003-05)

Prof. H.C. Jain was born on 14th January 1937 in Delhi.  He did his B.Com from Shri Ram College of Commerce and Diploma in Library Science & Master of Library Science from University of Delhi.  He started his career by joining Ratan Tata Library of Delhi University in the year 1956 and worked there in different capacities including Assistant Librarian until 1974.  Then he was posted to South Campus University Library as its Head/Deputy Librarian for about two decades and retired as Acting University Librarian of DULS in 2001.  He has been associated with Delhi Library Association since 1961 and has held various positions.  He has been rated very high as practicing librarian as well as a great teacher amongst the teaching faculties of DLA’s School of Library Science. He has greatly contributed to the profession during last 5 decades. He has contributed many research papers in the national and international conferences.

3. Prof Girja Kumar (2001-03) First University Librarian Of JNU

Fourth President was  Prof. Girja Kumar (2001-03)

Born in 1925 in Pakistan, Prof. Girja Kumar is a veteran research scholar and founder of the Sapru House Library. He held many important positions including Chairman of the Delhi Library Board (1985-86) and President of the Indian Library Association (1983-85). He has published some of the bestselling books and was also associated with several national publications and wrote regularly for “The Indian Express” and “The Week” as a book critic. He was the Chairman of Indian Organizing Committee, IFLA Conference (1992), New Delhi, He has also published several books on user information, information management, censorship and library development in India. “S.R. Ranganathan: An Intellectual Biography” has been his classic publication. He retired as Librarian of the Jawaharlal Nehru University Library in 1985


Third President was  Kumari Shanta Vashist (1954-2001)

Ms. Shanta Vashist was born on 20th June 1924. She did M.A., LLB from Delhi University and MA in Social Work from Chicago University. She founded a library for Class IV employees of the Law Faculty of Delhi University and also founded the Delhi Council for Social Welfare which worked for the welfare of jawans, children and families for 20 years. She was President of the Delhi Library Association during 1954-2001. She was Parliamentary Secretary to the Chief Minister, Delhi State 1952-53 and later Deputy Minister Education in the Delhi State, 1953-55. She was Chairman, Delhi Krishak Samaj, Harijan Welfare Board, Backward Class Board, Ex-Criminal Tribes Board and Alipur Community Development Block. She has served as Member, Rajya Sabha, 1961 to 1966 and 1966 to 1972. She has also written three books (two books of poetry in English and Hindi.)

2. Choudhary Brahm Prakash (1953-54) First Cheif Minister of Delhi

Second President was Chaudhary Brahm Prakash (1953-54), He was First Chief Minister of Delhi and Union Cabinet Minister of India for Food, Agriculture, Irrigation and Cooperatives

First President was Sir John P Sargent (1939-1953)

Sir John Philip Sargent,  (born Dec. 27, 1888—died Feb. 13, 1972), British statesman and educator who served as the principal educational adviser to the government of India from 1938 to 1948. Educated at St. Paul’s School and Oriel College, Oxford, Sargent was director of education for Southend-on-Sea (1927–31) and the county of Essex (1931–38) before being named educational commissioner with the government of India (1938–42), educational adviser to the government of India (1943–48), and secretary of the education department of India (1945–48). Sargent was knighted in 1946.