top of page

Prof. K P Singh



world-wide-web (1).png
facebook (2).png

A distinguished educationist, academician, teacher, teacher activist, researcher, academic administrator, practicing librarian, mentor & erudite orator. Currently working as Professor at the Department of Library and Information Science, Director, Gandhi Bhawan, Provost, PG Men's Hostel and Treasurer, Kirori Mal College of Delhi University.  Also holds top professional positions i.e., Founding President of SR Foundation for Library & Information Science, and President, Delhi Library Association. Prior to joining Delhi University, Prof. Singh also served at DRDO, ICAR, CBI, NIC, CSB & NVS. Prof. Singh is proud alumni of DU with a gold medalist in M. Sc (Agri.) and the proud recipient of national fellowships namely ICAR-JRF (Agri.), CSIR-JRF, UGC-JRF/NET (LIS) and DRDO-JRF (LIS).

Being a prolific writer and researcher, during 24 years of service have had authored 200 plus publications consisting of (12 books, 15 edited books, 106 research papers, 27 conference papers and 25 book chapters, etc) and successfully guided 12 Ph.D. theses, 30 M. Phil dissertations and more than 110 PG projects. Prof. Singh is an internationally recogonised LIS teacher, researcher and administrator and currently he is the Editor of WE- A Multidisciplinary and Multilingual Peer-Reviewed Research Journal<>published by Faculty of Arts, University of Delhi and Editor-in-Chief of VEETHIKA-An International Interdisciplinary Journal <> and also associated as member of editorial board of more than dozens national and international scholarly research journals.

Prof. Singh has a rare distinction as faculty of University of Delhi (i) First faculty in the LIS Department who brought research projects and successfully completed three Major Research Projects funded by DRDO and UGC; (ii). First LIS teacher in the Department who was consecutively elected twice as Academic Council Member (2015-2019) the highest statutory academic body of DU; (iii). First faculty of LIS department appointed by UGC/Ministry of Education as Member, GB of INFLIBNET Centre under ‘Eminent Librarian’ category; (iv) First faculty to organised three International Conferences in (2014, 2015 and 2019); and 11 academic programs on the occasion of ‘Platinum Jubilee Year of the Department (1946-2021) as Organising Secretary; (v) First faculty of who organized ‘Alumni Meet 2020’ as Alumni Team Leader which was attended by more than 515 alumni of library science; and (vi) First faculty who authored 4 books on the occasion of ‘Platinum Jubilee Celebrations’.

His multifaceted personality and extraordinary traits have been recognized by several National and International professional bodies by conferring upon many prestigious awards viz. SATKAL-Young Librarian Award (2011); DLA-Distinguished Faculty Award (2017); DLA-Professional Excellence Award for Working LIS Leader (2018); SPL-Best Teacher Award (2018); SLA-Best Teacher Award (2019); CGLA-Academic Excellence Award (2019) and SAIARD-Asian Academic Leadership Award (2020).

bottom of page